top of page
Search
  • riverrangere

Bandelier National Monument

March 15, 2022

Los Alamos, NM



My recollection of this place from 30

years ago, did not directly correlate to the park at all… maybe it’s changed, or my memory is off?! No matter, I remember strange cliff structures, and now I wanted to return and show my wife.

The ancient way of life here in these canyonlands has fascinated me since my time living in the Four Corners. How or why the Anasazi lived in cliff caves for hundreds of years - then disappeared, will forever baffle me. One of the great mysteries of the area. What I didn’t remember seeing, we’re the foot paths dug deep into soft stone connecting some of the cave dwellings. Some were at least 3 ft deep and only 2 shoe widths wide! The ladders up the cliffs and to the caves, and the petroglyphs I remember very well.

Hey if you‘re in New Mexico and haven’t been to see any better known ancient cliff villages, then make the trek to Bandolier.









13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page