top of page
Search
  • riverrangere

Falling for Niagara Falls

Tuesday & Wednesday, Sept. 21-22, 2021


Campgrounds being our retirement plan, we opted for one not too far from the falls called Four Mile Creek State Park. It has a large grassy area to camp, but you cannot swim here, even though it’s right on Lake Ontario??! We heard 3 inches of rain will fall on us in the next 2 days, so we really staked our camp down tight. Ready to see the main event, we headed to town.




Having never seen the falls in person, I wasn’t expecting the strait (river is what I called it, until I was corrected) to be so massive! I knew the falls itself would live up to its legend... but the river going over looked bigger than the Mississippi river we passed last week!? I also didn’t know there are 3 different falls involved: the American, Bridal Veil, and Horseshoe. Canada is even kind enough to light them up at night.


The next day we had to up the ante and do the falls some justice, so we hopped on the Maid of the Mist boat. I was concerned that we would think it too touristy (or it would flip and we’d all die😫), but on went the provided blue poncho and I wish I had snorkel and mask! The spray from the falls was soaking and blew everywhere… But I did have a minute to video/photo an older couple getting engaged.





Off the boat wet and bewildered, we walked up to stand nearly under the falls at the crows nest. Then back up the elevator to dry off, and check the view from the observation deck. Over to Goat Island for a walk out to the Three Sisters islands, then one more view of all the falls, and we called it a park well seen.


Crows Nest beside American Falls


26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page