top of page
Search
  • riverrangere

Under Mt Etna and straining from land sickness

Updated: Jan 25, 2022

Sunday January 23, 2022

Catania, Sicily



We made a crew change for the last leg of this trans-Mediterranean delivery, and I got a chance to switch from sea legs. Aimless wonderings will always turn up something interesting if you keep going on long enough. Roman ruins, old cathedrals, pedestrian only streets full of people, and good Italian food down a back alleys, seem to always turn up at some point or another. I am a long way away from the boat, blocks off any Main Street, in search of real beer for a change. Breweries, like we see by the dozens in any American city fail to be present in the Mediterranean…

Mosaik brewery in Catania seems to be changing that attitude, and I’m glad I made the trek.

I forgot to mention that we did get an extra day on the last stopover, and Stacey & I got in a little 9 mi hike to see some flamingos and a stroll on the beach. Also we caught a baby swordfish in route, but of course had to let it go👌.

Next stop: Greece (in 300+ miles) and a reunion with my wife!


Cheers everyone and hope we can put our sailing experience to the test on a boat near you🤞.






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page